Admiral Dinesh Kumar Tripathi assumes command of Indian Navy as its 26th chief

Team India Sentinels Tuesday 30th of April 2024 02:40 PM

Admiral Radhakrishnan Hari Kumar (L) handing over the Navy chief’s baton to Admiral Dinesh Kumar Tripathi. (Photo via special arrangement.)

New Delhi: Admiral Dinesh Kumar Tripathi assumed command as the 26th chief of the Indian Navy, on Tuesday. He succeeds Admiral Radhakrishnan Hari Kumar, who retired on superannuation after an illustrious career.

The government had announced his promotion on April 18, as was widely expected after he was appointed the vice-chief of the Navy.

Born on May 15, 1964, Adm Tripathi is an alumnus of Sainik School, Rewa and National Defence Academy, Khadakwasla. Commissioned into the Executive Branch of the Indian Navy on July 1, 1985, he has had a long and distinguished service spanning nearly 40 years.

A communication and electronic warfare specialist, Adm Tripathi has served on frontline warships of the Navy as signal communication officer and electronic warfare officer. He later served as the executive officer and principal warfare officer of the guided-missile destroyer INS Mumbai.

Adm Tripathi’s Sea commands include INS Vinash, INS Kirch, and INS Trishul. He has held various important operational and staff appointments, including fleet operations officer of the Western Fleet at Mumbai, director of Naval Operations, principal director Network-Centric Operations, and principal director of Naval Plans at New Delhi.

On promotion to the rank of rear admiral, he served as assistant chief of naval staff (policy and plans) at NHQ and as the flag officer commanding of the Eastern Fleet. As a vice admiral, he served as the commandant of the prestigious Indian Naval Academy at Ezhimala, Kerala, director general of naval operations, chief of personnel, and flag officer commanding in chief of Western Naval Command at Mumbai.

Adm Tripathi was the vice-chief of naval staff before taking charge as the Navy chief. He is a recipient of the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM) and Nau Sena Medal (NM).


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy | Cookies